WoW-Gasm! Part III (Return of the Gasm)

This is the third and final update for our Wrath of the Lich King coverage here at Triumph or Die! This final update will tell you everything we know about the upcoming expansion and hopefully get you as excited for this game as we are. All the intel we have gathered comes from various gaming sites around the web including 1up, Curse, Gamespy, Eurogamer, WorldofRaids, and WoW Insider.


  • Players will be able to unlock their flying mounts at level 77 by either doing a quest or a gold-sink
  • Once unlocked all previous flying mounts can be used, plus Blizzard will have some new ones for purchase.
  • WOTLK flying mounts will be a little bit faster than your standard Outland flying mount. More like the speed of the Phoenix or Armored Netherdrake mount.
  • “One of the things we’re talking about right now, it’s not finalized, but we’re talking about the ability for those mounts to carry a passenger, so if your friend doesn’t have an epic flying mount or if they are a lower level or whatever, they’d be able to jump on your mount and off you go,” says a Blizzard employee.
  • Northrend is considerably larger than Outlands in WOTLK.
  • The new “vehicle” system will let characters “drive” an object around. An example a Blizzard employee gave was “players will fly over a human settlement being overrun with the Scourge, lowering a ladder down to pull up and rescue civilians. In one dungeon instance, players will be able to “liberate” some blue dragons that they can mount up and fly around, fighting their way up a massive tower.”

Old Azeroth contents used in Northrend:

  • There are quests and content relating to the Worgen and the sons of Arugal (from Silverpine forest)
  • The Scarlet Crusade returns in Northrend but now calls themselves the “Scarlet Onslaught”
  • Advances to the storyline of the Forsaken, adding unique Forsaken building and architecture


  • The Argent Dawn returns in Troll instance (or raid) Zul’Drak
  • In Sholazar Basin, players will be able to choose which faction to align with. Either the wolverine like Wolvar or the next evolution of the murlocs called “Oracles.” Reputation will be easy to gain here as Blizzard wants you to defect to and from your chosen faction.


  • Blacksmithing may be able to put gem slots in items that didn’t have them before


  • Inscribers will create glyphs that allow players to modify their spells and abilities.
  • The first recipe is going to require Peacebloom, thus they’ll rely on the herbalist gathering profession.
  • Every player will get a new spell book page to which they can add six glyphs – currently, four major and two minor.
  • Major glyphs will be effective in combat – adding damage over time or stun to a physical attack, for example – while minor glyphs will give convenient or cosmetic improvements, removing the need for some spell reagents.
  • Glyphs can be sold on the auction house.

Dungeons & Raids:

  • Similar to World of Warcraft: The Burning Crusade, all 5-person dungeons will have a Heroic mode, and the loot tables for the 2 modes will be totally separate. Heroic dungeons will have their own “Tier” of armor completely unique to that level dungeon.
  • The regular five-man instances take around one hour or less to beat (this probably won’t be the case for the heroic versions)
  • Zero raid bosses have been designed at this point
  • PvE ladders on the official armory are possible in the future

New Two-Tier Raiding System:

  • All raid dungeons in Wrath of the Lich King will have both 25-person and 10-person versions
  • 25-person raiding progression is not dependent on 10-person raiding; players will not have to obtain keys or attunements in 10-person raids to participate in 25-person raids
  • 10- and 25-person raids both have their own, independent progression paths
  • Players will receive more, higher level rewards for completing the 25-person raid dungeons over the 10-person version

Dragonblight: (new zone)

  • Players will interact with Arthas for the first time at a relatively low level, around 71-74 in Dragonblight – the final encounter with him won’t be until the final patch of the Lich King cycle, some time after release.
  • The Chamber of Aspects in Dragonblight will offer a series of different single-encounter short raids with dragon bosses.

The Nexus:

  • The Nexus is located in Coldara (a sub-zone of Borean Tundra) is a three-wing dungeon for 70s, 80s and a short Onyxia-style raid against Malygos himself.
  • The Nexus is structurally a broken tower with rotating rings surrounding a column of blue energy.
  • During some of the boss encounters, players will actually free drakes to fly around the ring. Using the game’s new vehicle technology, players will be able to engage in free flight around the dungeon and use some of the drake’s abilities to take on some of the dungeon’s challenges.

Death Knight:

  • Death knights will be available to all players with level 55 characters
  • Players can create one death knight per realm, per account
  • Death knights can be any of the races
  • Once created, death knights can undertake a series of quests to introduce the player to the new class and its associated lore
  • Death knights utilize a rune system as their resource mechanic
  • Three different rune types are available: Unholy, Frost, and Blood
  • These runes allow death knights to cast spells and abilities; spells can cost any combination of these runes
  • Spent runes automatically refresh after a set period of time, similar to a rogue’s energy bar
  • The death knight will have the ability to customize which array of six runes is currently available
  • As rune abilities are used, the death knight also generates another resource called Runic Power
  • The death knight will have several abilities that cost all available Runic Power, with varying levels of effectiveness based on total Runic Power spent
  • Runic Power decays over time if it’s not spent, similar to a warrior’s rage bar
  • The death knight has three different presences to use: Blood, Frost, and Unholy; each presence grants the death knight a unique buff that will allow him or her to fulfill different roles in combat
  • The death knight can serve either as a tank or as a melee-based damage-dealing class
  • Death knights are designed to be highly viable tanking, magic-using characters
  • Death knights will have the ability to summon undead guardians to fight by their side
  • Death knights will have the ability to summon a Deathcharger mount.


Leave a comment

Filed under Gaming, World of Warcraft

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s